Théâtre de la tortue noire

Who are we?

La Tortue Noire stands out by its ambition to create resolutely contemporary puppet shows. Its artists practice the art of surprising the audience with the originality of their shows which offer a subtle mixture of acting, puppet theater, theater of forms and animated objects. Throughout their multiple works destined to all audiences, they strive to develop virtuosity and meticulousness in the handling and manipulation of objects.

Regularly inspired by texts from contemporary playwrights such as Daniel Danis, Larry Tremblay or Bertolt Brecht, they dare to approach deep subjects in a poetic and playful manner, by creating rich images, both simple and strong. The artists of La Tortue Noire put the object at the very center of their creative process. The object then gives birth to the gesture, the staff on which the melody of the body in motion is written. It is through a raw aesthetic of a new agreement with the object, but an agreement that constantly needs to be renegotiated, that La Tortue Noire asserts its aesthetic specificity.

The performer’s work also being a central preoccupation for the artists, they constantly explore and reinvent the relationship between the handling of objects and the body of the actor. They put forward a creative process in which all creators work with a sense of freedom, in a collaborative spirit.

marionnette_théâtre_tortue_noire

La Tortue Noire, it’s more than 15 years of passionate creation!

Founded in 2005, the company cumulates numerous experiences in creation, research and international touring. It has produced ten original shows which have been presented in Belgium, France, Italy, Netherlands, Czech Republic, Cuba, the United States, Mexico and Canada. La Tortue Noire’s original productions have also received a number of prizes. Among those, the Gallery Chagall Award, an important distinction awarded in Czech Republic, was given to the show Kiwi “for taking the medium of puppetry to superior levels.”

 

 

Whilst having a practice that tries to connect with a worldwide audience, La Tortue Noire anchors its roots in the Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean region of Quebec. In addition to its artistic endeavours, the company regularly organizes workshops for schools, universities or for the professional community.

Our team

Sara Moisan

Executive Director and Creator [email protected]

A graduate in interdisciplinary arts, Sara Moisan also holds a master’s degree in theater from the UQAC, where she presented Chosen Pieces, a creation that combined dancing and theater. During her training, she developed a rather personal approach, centered on the work of the body and the use of dancing as a driving force in theatrical creation. An actress for more than two decades, she has participated in theatrical productions of the Théâtre CRI, the Théâtre 100 Masques, the Théâtre La Rubrique, the Têtes Heureuses and the Théâtre à Bout portant. She has also handled the costume designs in a variety of productions and has appeared both as a puppeteer and as an actress in the majority of La Tortue Noire’s shows.

She was part of the creative team that brought to life shows such as Kiwi, The Witnesses, Daïdalos, Theaters of a Maze, Memento Mori, Memories of an Hourglass, The Other in the City and Ogre. She also adapted, directed and starred in the play The Little Chalk Circle. She has also been working as a therapeutic clown with the Clowns Thérapeutiques Saguenay for over ten years now.

img_0398_hd5

Dany Lefrançois

Artistic Director and Creator [email protected]

After graduating in interdisciplinary arts at the UQAC, Dany Lefrançois completed his training as an actor at the Quebec Conservatory for Dramatic Arts in 2003. He has since developed an artistic career with numerous companies both as a puppeteer or as a director. Since 2013, he is the co-director of the Festival International des Arts de la Marionnette à Saguenay (FIAMS).

As a creator, his process is mainly centered on the handling of objects and on the formal research in the artwork of puppetry. Every year, he is at the helm of several school workshops where he teaches creation and initiation to puppetry. He has received a Contribution Artistique award from the CRC-SLSJ. He is also the co-recipient of a Masque de la contribution spéciale, awarded by the Académie Québécoise du Théâtre. In 2019, he was named Artiste de l’année au SLSJ by the Conseil des arts et lettres du Québec.

img_3968_hd

Laura Dyens Taar

France Agent [email protected]

Valérie Essiambre

Executive assistant and Communications Officer [email protected]

Marilyne Renaud

Production Director [email protected]

Our loyal artistic collaborators

  • Martin Gagnon, puppeteer and designer who assists in the creation of various objects and puppets
  • Serge Potvin, stage manager
  • Chantale Boulianne, set designe
  • Alexandre Nadeau, lighting design
  • Guylaine Rivard, director and outside look
  • Mylène Leboeuf-Gagné, puppet design and manufacture
  • Guillaume Thibert, sound design
  • Marilyne Renaud, assistant director and motion advisor
  • Patrick Simard, puppeteer and graphic design
  • Isabeau Côté, technical director and stage manager
  • Christian Ouellet, puppeteer and assistant director

Members of the board of directors

  • Doris-Hélène Guérin, président, Literature teacher, Cégep de Jonquière
  • Catherine Boulay, Vice-President and Interim Secretary, Event Planner, Agence 4b
  • Julie Morin, Administrator, School Principal, École de danse Florence Fourcaudot
  • Stéphan Rodrigue, Treasury, Teacher, École polyvalente Jonquière

Founders of the company

  • Dany Lefrançois
  • Sara Moisan
  • Martin Gagnon
  • Guylaine Rivard

Our partners

La Tortue Noire would like to thank all its partners, collaborators and friends that contributed to the realization of its artistic endeavours. Whether it is financial, artistic, mediatic or moral, your support is essential to us.

La Tortue Noire is a proud member of the following associations:

Théâtre de la tortue noire

Qui sommes-nous

La Tortue Noire se distingue par son ambition à créer des spectacles de marionnettes résolument contemporains. Ses artistes pratiquent l’art de surprendre par l’originalité de leurs spectacles qui proposent un mariage subtil entre le jeu d’acteurs, le théâtre de marionnettes, le théâtre de formes et d’objets animés. Ils s’appliquent à développer, dans leurs œuvres destinées à différents publics, une virtuosité et une minutie dans la manipulation des objets.

Régulièrement inspirés par des textes de dramaturges contemporains tels Daniel Danis, Larry Tremblay, ou Bertolt Brecht, ils osent aborder des sujets profonds de façon poétique et ludique, en créant des images riches, à la fois simples et fortes. Les artistes de La Tortue Noire placent l’objet au centre de leur processus de création. De lui naît le geste, la portée sur laquelle s’écrit la mélodie du corps en mouvement. C’est par une esthétique brute d’un nouvel accord avec l’objet, mais un accord sans cesse à renégocier, que La Tortue Noire affirme sa spécificité esthétique.

Préoccupés également par le travail de l’interprète, les artistes explorent et réinventent la relation entre la manipulation d’objets et le corps de l’acteur. Ils mettent de l’avant des processus de création où tous les créateurs travaillent avec un sentiment de liberté, dans un esprit de collaboration.

marionnette_théâtre_tortue_noire

La tortue noire, c’est plus de 15 ans de création passionnée!

Fondée en 2005, la compagnie cumule de nombreuses expériences de création, de recherche et de tournée internationale. Elle compte dix créations originales qui ont été diffusées en Belgique, en France, en Italie, aux Pays-Bas, en République Tchèque, à Cuba, aux États-Unis, au Mexique et au Canada. Les créations de La Tortue Noire ont reçu plusieurs prix, dont le Gallery Chagall Award, une importante distinction décernée en République Tchèque pour le spectacle Kiwi « qui fait avancer le médium de la marionnette à des niveaux supérieurs ».

 

 

Tout en ayant une pratique ouverte sur le monde, La Tortue Noire ancre ses racines dans la région du Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean, au Québec. En plus des activités artistiques, la compagnie organise occasionnellement des activités de formation, que ce soit pour les écoles, les universités ou pour le milieu professionnel.

 

 

 

Notre équipe

Sara Moisan

Directrice générale et créatrice [email protected]

Diplômée en arts interdisciplinaires, Sara Moisan est aussi détentrice d’une maîtrise en théâtre de l’UQAC, dans le cadre de quoi elle a présenté Morceaux Choisis, création alliant la danse et le théâtre. Elle y développe une approche personnelle axée sur le travail corporel et l’utilisation de la danse en tant que moteur à la création théâtrale. Comédienne depuis une vingtaine d’années, on a pu la voir dans les productions du théâtre CRI, du Théâtre 100 Masques, du Théâtre La Rubrique, avec Les Têtes Heureuses et le Théâtre à Bout portant. Elle a aussi conçu les costumes de diverses productions.

Marionnettiste et interprète dans la majorité des spectacles de La Tortue Noire, elle a participé à la création de Kiwi, Les Témoins, Daïdalos, théâtres d’un labyrinthe, Memento Mori, Mémoires d’un sablier, L’Autre dans la cité et Ogre. Elle signe de plus l’adaptation et la mise en scène du spectacle Le Petit cercle de craie, dans lequel elle est également interprète. Elle se consacre aussi, depuis plus de dix ans, au clown thérapeutique, au sein de l’organisme Clowns thérapeutiques Saguenay.

IMG_0398_HD5

Dany Lefrançois

Directeur artistique et créateur [email protected]

Diplômé en arts interdisciplinaires à l’Université du Québec à Chicoutimi (UQAC), Dany Lefrançois a perfectionné sa formation en 2003 au Conservatoire d’art dramatique de Québec. Il a développé depuis une carrière artistique au sein de plusieurs compagnies en tant que marionnettiste ou metteur en scène dans de nombreuses productions théâtrales. Depuis 2013, il est codirecteur artistique du Festival international des arts de la marionnette à Saguenay (FIAMS).

En tant que créateur, sa démarche artistique est aujourd’hui principalement axée sur la manipulation d’objets et la recherche formelle en arts de la marionnette. Il dirige annuellement de nombreux ateliers scolaires de création et d’initiation aux arts de la marionnette. Il a été récipiendaire d’un prix Contribution artistique remis par le CRC-SLSJ et co-récipiendaire d’un Masque de la contribution spéciale décerné par l’Académie québécoise du théâtre. En 2019, il est nommé Artiste de l’année au SLSJ par le Conseil des arts et lettres du Québec.

Crédit photo: Patrick Simard

Valérie Essiambre

Adjointe de direction et chargée de communications [email protected]

Marilyne Renaud

Directrice de production [email protected]

Laura Dyens Taar

Agente pour la France [email protected]

Nos fidèles collaborateurs artistiques

  • Martin Gagnon, marionnettiste, concepteur et aide à la réalisation d’objets et marionnettes
  • Serge Potvin, régisseur
  • Chantale Boulianne, scénographe
  • Alexandre Nadeau, éclairagiste
  • Guylaine Rivard, metteure en scène et regard extérieur
  • Mylène Leboeuf-Gagné, conceptrice et fabricante de marionnette
  • Guillaume Thibert, concepteur sonore
  • Marilyne Renaud, assistante à la mise en scène et conseillère au mouvement
  • Patrick Simard, marionnettiste et graphiste
  • Isabeau Côté, directrice technique et régisseure
  • Christian Ouellet, marionnettiste et assistant à la mise en scène

Membres du conseil d'administration

  • Catherine Boulay, administratrice, organisatrice d’événements, Agence 4b
  • Julie Morin, administratrice, directrice, École de danse Florence Fourcaudot
  • Marcel Ouellet, trésorier, coordonnateur, Centre fiscal de Jonquière
  • Denise Lavoie, vice-présidente et secrétaire par intérim, coach d’affaires, ACC
  • Stéphan Rodrigue, administrateur, enseignant, École polyvalente Jonquière
  • Doris-Hélène Guérin, présidente, enseignante en littérature, Cégep de Jonquière
  • Dany Lefrançois, Directeur artistique et créateur

Fondateurs de la compagnie

  • Dany Lefrançois
  • Sara Moisan
  • Martin Gagnon
  • Guylaine Rivard

Nos Partenaires

La Tortue Noire remercie chaleureusement tous les partenaires, collaborateurs et ami.es qui ont contribué au déploiement de ses activités culturelles. Ces soutiens, qu’ils soient financiers, artistiques, médiatiques ou moraux, sont essentiels.

La Tortue Noire est fière membre des associations suivantes :